File /Humanist.vol22.txt, message 167

Date:         Sun, 3 Aug 2008 15:53:28 +0100
From: Humanist Discussion Group <willard.mccarty-AT-MCCARTY.ORG.UK>
Subject: 22.162 call for nominations: Roberto Busa Award
To: humanist-AT-Princeton.EDU

               Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 22, No. 162.
       Centre for Computing in the Humanities, King's College London
                     Submit to:

         Date: Sun, 03 Aug 2008 15:45:42 +0100
         From: Humanist Discussion Group <>
         Subject: ADHO Roberto Busa Award - Call for nominations

The ADHO Roberto Busa Award

Call for nominations for the 2010 award

The Roberto Busa Award is given every three years to honour outstanding
scholarly achievement in humanities computing. It is presented by the
Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO) on behalf of its
constituent organizations: the Association for Literary and Linguistic
Computing (ALLC), the Association for Computers and the Humanities (ACH)
and the Society for Digital Humanities/Soci=E9t=E9 pour l'=E9tude des m=E9dias
interactifs (SDH/SEMI).

The Award is named after Roberto Busa, SJ, who is regarded by many as
the founder of the field of humanities computing. The first award was
given to Father Busa himself in 1998. Subsequent recipients have been:

*	Emeritus Professor John Burrows (2001), who helped to shape the
application of statistical methods to the analysis of textual style and
bridged the gap between traditional literary criticism and omputer-aided
*	Emeritus Professor Susan Hockey (2004), for her contribution to the
establishment of the field of Humanities Computing, and for her work on
computers and text;
*	Professor Dr. Wilhelm Ott (2007), creator of TUSTEP, director of the
Computing Center of the University of Tuebingen, and host of 90 seminars
over several decades in the Kolloquium uber die Anwendung der
Elektronischen Datenverarbeitung in den Geisteswissenschaften .

The next Busa Award will be given at the Digital Humanities 2010
conference, which will be held at King's College London, England.

The Award Committee invites nominations for this award. Nominations may
be made by anyone with an interest in humanities computing and neither
nominee nor nominator need be a member of ACH, ALLC or SDH/SEMI.

Nominators should give an account of the nominee's work and the reasons
it is felt to be an outstanding contribution to the field. A list of
bibliographic references to the nominee's work is required.

Nominators are welcome to resubmit updated versions of unsuccessful
nominations submitted in previous years.

Nominations should be sent no later than November 1st 2008, to the Chair
of the Busa Award Committee:

Jean Anderson,
University of Glasgow, 6 University Gardens, Glasgow G12 8QH
Fax: +44 141 330 4537
Email submissions are preferred.

Members of the 2010 Busa Award Committee:
Jean Anderson (Chair, ALLC), Chuck Bush (ACH), Ray Siemens (SDH/SEMI)
Lorna Hughes, Matt Jockers, Lisa Lena Opas-Hanninen, Claire Warwick.

From - Sun Aug 03 17:16:18 2008
X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000

Humanist Main Page


Display software: ArchTracker © Malgosia Askanas, 2000-2005