File /Humanist.vol22.txt, message 555

From: Humanist Discussion Group <>
Date: Fri, 27 Feb 2009 08:36:58 +0000 (GMT)
Subject: [Humanist] 22.570 dissertation prize

                 Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 22, No. 570.
         Centre for Computing in the Humanities, King's College London
                Submit to:

        Date: Wed, 25 Feb 2009 20:30:35 +0000
        From: Carlos Areces <>
        Subject: E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize: 2009 call for submissions

This message was originally submitted by areces-AT-PLUTON.LORIA.FR to the humanist
list at LISTS.PRINCETON.EDU. If you simply forward it back to the list, using a
mail command  that generates "Resent-" fields  (ask your local user  support or
consult  the documentation  of  your mail  program  if in  doubt),  it will  be
distributed  and  the  explanations  you   are  now  reading  will  be  removed
automatically. If on the other hand you edit the contributions you receive into
a digest, you will have to  remove this paragraph manually. Finally, you should
be able  to contact  the author  of this  message by  using the  normal "reply"
function of your mail program.

----------------- Message requiring your approval (88 lines) ------------------
E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize: 2009 call for submissions

Since 2002, FoLLI (the European Association for Logic,
Language, and Information, awards the
E. W. Beth Dissertation Prize to outstanding dissertations
in the fields of Logic, Language, and Information. We invite
submissions for the best dissertation which resulted in a
Ph.D. degree in the year 2008. The dissertations will be
judged on technical depth and strength, originality, and
impact made in at least two of the three fields of Logic,
Language, and Computation. Inter-disciplinarity is an
important feature of the theses competing for the E. W.
Beth Dissertation Prize.

Who qualifies.
Nominations of candidates are admitted who were awarded a
Ph.D. degree in the areas of Logic, Language, or Information
between January 1st, 2008 and December 31st, 2008. There is
no restriction on the nationality of the candidate or the
university where the Ph.D. was granted. After a careful
consideration, FoLLI has decided to accept only dissertations
written in English. Dissertations produced in 2008 but not
written in English or not translated will be allowed for
submission, after translation, also with the call next year
(for 2009). Respectively, nominations of full English
translations of theses originally written in other language
than English and defended in 2007 and 2008 will be accepted
for consideration this year, too.

The prize consists of:

* a certificate
* a donation of 2500 euros provided by the E. W. Beth Foundation.
* an invitation to submit the thesis (or a revised version
  of it) to the new series of books in Logic, Language and
  Information to be published by Springer-Verlag as part of LNCS
  or LNCS/LNAI. (Further information on this series is available
  on the FoLLI site)

How to submit.
Only electronic submissions are accepted. The following documents
are required:

   1. the thesis in pdf or ps format (doc/rtf not accepted);
   2. a ten page abstract of the dissertation in ascii or pdf format;
   3. a letter of nomination from the thesis supervisor.
      Self-nominations are not admitted: each nomination must be
      sponsored by the thesis supervisor. The letter of nomination
      should concisely describe the scope and significance of the
      dissertation and state when the degree was officially awarded;
   4. two additional letters of support, including at least one letter
      from a referee not affiliated with the academic institution that
      awarded the Ph.D. degree.

All documents must be submitted electronically to

Hard copy submissions are not admitted.

In case of any problems with the email submission or a lack of
notification within three working days after submission, nominators
should write to or,
with a cc to

Important dates:
Deadline for Submissions: March 16, 2009.
Notification of Decision: July 1, 2009.

Committee :

 * Anne Abeillé (Université Paris 7)
 * Natasha Alechina (University of Nottingham)
 * Wojciech Buszkowski (Adam Mickiewicz University,  Poznan)
 * Didier Caucal (IGM-CNRS)
 * Nissim Francez (The Technion, Haifa)
 * Valentin Goranko  (chair) (University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg)
 * Alexander Koller (Saarland University)
 * Alessandro Lenci (University of Pisa)
 * Gerald Penn (University of Toronto)
 * Alberto Policriti (Università di Udine)
 * Rob van der Sandt (University of Nijmegen)
 * Colin Stirling (University of Edinburgh)

This email has been scanned by the MessageLabs Email Security System.
For more information please visit 

List posts to:
List info and archives at at:
Listmember interface at:
Subscribe at:


Humanist Main Page


Display software: ArchTracker © Malgosia Askanas, 2000-2005